Research Methods and Research Practice

 

Mission

The Research Methods and Research Practice (RM&RP) strategic interest group (SIG) exists to promote debates – and stimulate innovation – around all aspects of academic research, from its conception through to its execution, the subsequent development of theory and the dissemination of findings and knowledge.  The RM&RP SIG seeks to draw understanding about research methods and research practice from all business and management disciplines including Accounting, Computer Science, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Human Resource Management, Learning and Development, Marketing, Operations Management, Organizational Behaviour, Strategy, and Systems Management.  By sharing novel approaches and advancing knowledge about the usefulness of different methods and the facilitators of – and constraints on – the use of those methods in the research and broader environment, it seeks to enable researchers to improve the design and execution of their research and its dissemination.  Good research approaches are indispensable to the asking of important research questions, the development of useful theories and meaningful engagement with broader societies.  The RM&RP SIG aims to stimulate debate in a supportive environment in which all levels of academic from doctoral students through to senior professors feel at home.  The RM&RP SIG aims to promote understanding across national borders and to draw strength from the diversity of research approaches that exist across Europe and beyond.  It seeks to generate continuous debate between conferences through its use of a range of different media including electronic newsletters and a presence on the world wide web.

SIG OFFICERS

Bill Lee (University of Sheffield, UK) – w.j.lee@sheffield.ac.uk SIG Chairs
Gianpaolo Abatecola (University of Rome Tor Vergata, IT) – abatecola@economia.uniroma2.it SIG Chairs


Viktor Dörfler (University of Strathclyde) - viktor.dorfler@strath.ac.uk SIG Plenary Chairs
Marc Stierand (Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne) - marc.stierand@ehl.ch SIG Plenary Chairs

 

David S. A. Guttormsen (BI Norwegian Business School, Norway) – david.guttormsen@bi.no General track chairs

Huiping Xian (University of Sheffield, UK) - h.xian@sheffield.ac.uk General track chairs

 

Prof. Dr Petra Poljsak-Rosinski (BAU International Berlin – University of Applied Sciences) - poljsak-rosinski@bauinternational-uni.de Treasurer

Heidi Collins - hcollins@swinburne.edu.my SIG Communication Officer